Compliance Review Report - Le Marché Daoust Inc.

Prepared by: Samson & Associates
Date: March 2014

Table of contents

1.0 Executive Summary

On April 1, 2011, the Nutrition North Canada (NNC) replaced the Food Mail Program, which was operated by Canada Post since the late 60's. Much like Food Mail, the purpose of Nutrition North Canada is to make nutritious food more accessible and more affordable to residents of isolated northern communities.

Accordingly, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) commissioned a compliance review based on specific objectives for the period covering July 1, 2012 to July 31, 2013. The results of the review are as follows:

i) Passing on the Subsidy

Review Objective: Verify that the recipient is passing on the value of the subsidy to consumers, i.e. that selling prices are reduced by the amount of the subsidy.

Finding #1
It was observed during the review that in 3% of reviewed invoices (2/60) the NNC subsidy indicated on the consumers' receipts did not include the weight of containers representing an additional 5% as calculated in the NNC monthly claim summary. Although they have been deemed non-material, the observed errors represent an overcharge of $24.60 for subsidy Level 1((4.18 kg x $5.20) + (1.30 kg x $2.20)) and $0.67 for subsidy Level 2 ((.19 kg x $3.40) + (.05 kg x $0.40)).

Conclusion
The review indicated that recipient is passing on the value of the subsidy to consumers, with the exception of Finding #1 as noted above.

ii) Program Visibility

Review Objective: Verify that program visibility requirements are met (i.e. the subsidy rates are written on consumer receipts).

Conclusion
Le Marché Daoust Inc. is a southern supplier. The review indicated that the recipient is clearly identifying the subsidy rates on consumers' receipts.

iii) Claims and Reporting

Review Objective: Test the recipients' reporting and claiming systems and procedures with regards to gap and control issues, i.e. verify that the process used by recipients to prepare detailed reports and calculate the amount of subsidy to be claimed is sound and precise, and that mechanisms to detect and correct errors are in place.

Finding #2
During the review we observed that 5% (3/60) of reviewed invoices contained typing errors where weight had been entered in the claim report. For further details, please refer to Finding #2 in Section 3.3.

Conclusion
The review of the reporting and claiming systems and related procedures revealed that the controls were adequate to ensure the subsidy being claimed is precise and that mechanisms to detect and correct errors were in place, with the exception of Finding #2 as noted above.

iv) Respect of Program Rules

Review Objective: Verify that the recipient respects all program rules, especially in regards to sales to ineligible consumers such as mining camps or construction companies.

Conclusion
The review revealed that the recipient was respecting the program rules with respect to sales to ineligible consumers

2.0 Introduction

2.1 Background

On April 1, 2011, Nutrition North Canada (NNC) replaced the Food Mail Program, which was operated by Canada Post since the late 1960's. Much like Food Mail, the purpose of NNC is to make nutritious food more accessible and more affordable to residents of isolated northern communities.

There are currently 103 communities eligible for the program (84 are eligible for a full subsidy and 19 for a partial subsidy), located in Nunavut, the Northwest Territories, Yukon, Labrador, Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba and Saskatchewan. Two levels of subsidy rates per kilogram have been established for each community; Level 1 (higher) for the most nutritious perishable foods and Level 2 (lower) for other eligible items. Communities where operating and transportation costs are higher (e.g. Grise Fiord, Nunavut) tend to have higher subsidy rates.

Northern retailers and southern suppliers registered with the program (the recipients) are responsible to manage their supply chain and claim a subsidy from NNC for eligible food that they air ship to eligible communities. On a monthly basis, they must submit a claim form (kg x subsidy rates), a detailed shipment report (kg per item, community, client type, etc.), invoices and waybills to receive the payment (most are entitled to advance payments based on forecasted weights). These are submitted to the program's claims processor under contract with AANDC (the Saskatchewan Institute of Information Technology in collaboration with Crawford). The claims processor verifies the claims and provides NNC with a recommendation for payment. Registered northern retailers must also submit, directly to NNC, a monthly pricing report for a pre-determined list of food items. These and other program requirements are identified in contribution agreements between the recipients and AANDC.

As of June 28, 2013, seven northern retailers, 28 southern suppliers and three country food processors were registered with NNC. Northern retailers are those entities that operate one or multiple food retail stores in eligible communities. Southern suppliers are food providers operating out of non-NNC communities that supply eligible items directly to small northern retailers, commercial establishments (restaurants, etc.), social institutions (daycares, etc.) and individuals (referred to as direct or personal orders) located in eligible communities. Country food processors are plants located in Cambridge Bay, Rankin Inlet and Pangnirtung in Nunavut that transform fish and meat for distribution to eligible communities within the region.

The selection of recipients for this compliance review was based on perceived risk and geographical location. Risk levels for compliance review purposes were based on the current experience with recipients regarding the claiming and reporting process, i.e. difficulties encountered by the claims processor, on information brought to the program's attention by interested parties, and on materiality. For practicality and cost-effectiveness reasons, at least two recipients have been selected per geographical location.

2.2 Objectives

The objective of recipient compliance reviews is to provide assurance that NNC recipients are in compliance with the terms and conditions of their respective funding agreements signed with AANDC. Specifically, the compliance reviews will:

  1. Verify that the recipient is passing on the value of the subsidy to consumers, i.e. that selling prices are reduced by the amount of the subsidy;
  2. Verify that program visibility requirements are met (e.g. for northern retailers, that subsidy rates are written on cash receipts and program material, such as posters, are clearly visible in the store, and, for southern suppliers, that the amount of the subsidy reduction is clearly identified on clients' invoices);
  3. Test the recipient's reporting and claiming systems and procedures with regards to gap and control issues, i.e. verify that the process used by the recipient to prepare detailed reports and calculate the amount of subsidy to be claimed is sound and precise, and that mechanisms to find errors and fix them are in place; and
  4. Verify that the recipient respects all program rules, especially with respect to sales to ineligible clients such as mining camps or construction companies.

2.3 Scope

The scope of the compliance review included the funding provided by AANDC to Marché Daoust Inc. for the period July 1, 2012 to July 31, 2013. The on-site review was conducted at the offices of Marché Daoust Inc. in Valleyfield, Québec, from December 8 to 11, 2013. A debrief of the compliance review was given to the recipient on December 11, 2013.

2.4 Approach and Methodology

The compliance review included the examination of the following:

  • The pricing/invoicing practices in relation to the subsidy, e.g. profit margins on subsidized products vs. unsubsidized products;
  • The weighing and shipping process;
  • The sale and/or purchasing records and supporting documentation to verify compliance with program rules;
  • The reporting and claiming systems and procedures, to determine how the recipient:
    • ensures that only eligible items are claimed for and reported;
    • calculates the appropriate weight of items being claimed;
    • makes monthly claims and detailed reports that are valid and accurate; and
    • ensures controls are in place to find errors and fix them on a timely basis.

Furthermore, the review included the conduct of interviews with the recipient, NNC staff and the person responsible for processing claims. The sampling approach and appropriate coverage were determined during the planning phase of the review.

2.5 Conclusion

We find that the recipient has complied with the objectives of the compliance review.

3.0 Compliance with the Objectives

3.1 Passing on the Subsidy

Review Objective: Verify that the recipient is passing on the value of the subsidy to consumers, i.e. that selling prices are reduced by the amount of the subsidy.

Finding #1
When invoices are prepared, weight is pre-determined for certain items and variable for others. All variable-weight items are weighed as needed using scales in the packaging department. A 5% adjustment is added to the weight of these items to reflect the packaging weight (containers). The weight of items eligible for each level (1 and 2) is then entered as a deduction on client invoices with the per-kilogram subsidy according to the NNC-prescribed rate. Administrative and transportation costs are then added to the invoice.

It was observed during the review that in 3% of reviewed invoices (2/60) the NNC subsidy indicated on the consumers' receipts did not include the weight of containers representing an additional 5% as calculated in the NNC monthly claim summary. Although they have been deemed non-material, the observed errors represent an overcharge of $24.60 for subsidy Level 1((4.18 kg x $5.20) + (1.30 kg x $2.20)) and $0.67 for subsidy Level 2 ((.19 kg x $3.40) + (.05 kg x $0.40)).

Recommendation #1
The recipient must ensure that the subsidy to the consumer includes an additional 5% to include the weight of containers claimed monthly to NNC.

Conclusion
The review demonstrated that the recipient is passing on the value of the subsidy to consumers, with the exception of Finding #1 as noted above.

3.2 Program Visibility

Review Objective: Verify that program visibility requirements are met (i.e. the subsidy rates are written on client receipts).

Conclusion
The review revealed that the recipient was identifying the subsidy rates on clients' receipts.

3.3 Claims and Reporting

Review Objective: Test the recipients' reporting and claiming systems and procedures with regards to gap and control issues, i.e. verify that the process used by recipients to prepare detailed reports and calculate the amount of subsidy to be claimed is sound and precise, and that mechanisms to detect and correct errors are in place.

The recipient must provide two separate reports to receive the NNC subsidy.

Report #1 – Claim Report
This report indicates, for each item delivered to all clients, the community ID, the client name, the NNC item ID, the NNC item description, the subsidy level, the weight shipped, the invoice number and the proof of delivery number.

Report #2 – Claim Form
This report indicates the total weight per subsidy level (1 and 2) and the subsidy per community. The report also includes a summary of all weights per subsidy level (1 and 2) and the total subsidy for all communities.

Finding #2
The recipient uses two distinct systems for billing commercial and individual clients. The main difference is that commercial clients purchase products from other stores, while individual clients purchase products sold by the recipient.

For commercial clients, each invoice is manually entered in the claim report. For individual clients, a monthly report is produced automatically by the sales system and the information is then copied into the NNC report without additional manual entries.

We performed tests to ensure that the weights indicated on the invoices were consistent with the weights indicated in the NNC reports. Our audit found that 3 of the 58 commercial invoices examined contained indicated weights that were inconsistent with the weights entered in the NNC report prepared by the recipient. The recipient affirmed that these inconsistencies are typing errors committed while entering the weights in the NNC claim.

Recommendation #2
The recipient must pay particular attention when entering weights in the claim report and investigate any significant gaps between the weight on the invoice and the weight on the freight order.

Conclusion
With the exception of Finding #2 as noted above, the review of the reporting and claiming systems and related procedures revealed that the controls were adequate to ensure the subsidy being claimed is precise and that mechanisms to detect and correct errors were in place.

3.4 Respect of Program Rules

Review Objective: Verify that the recipient respects all program rules, especially in regards to sales to ineligible consumers such as mining camps or construction companies.

Note #1
During our visit to the recipient's place of business, we interviewed the manager of the Northern orders department, who indicated that she and her team are very familiar with the program rules, as they have been in place since the start of the program. This included familiarity with the ineligibility of certain consumers such as mining camps or construction companies. Internet research and consultation with other local clients is undertaken as needed if there are questions concerning the eligibility of a new client. Our review of a representative sample of invoices demonstrated that the recipient had not made sales to ineligible consumers.

Conclusion
The review revealed that the recipient was respecting the program rules with respect to sales to ineligible consumers.

Appendix A - Recipient's Comments to the Draft Report and the Auditor's Response

Recipient's Comments:

The draft report seems clear, and as you indicated the problems are mostly typing errors. We have (since meeting with you) improved our method of calculating and inputting figures to provide additional opportunities for verification.

Response from Samson & Associates:

No response required.

Date modified:

Rapport d’examen de conformité - Le Marché Daoust Inc.

Préparé par : Samson & Associés
Date : mars 2014

Table des matières

1.0 Sommaire

Le 1er avril 2011, Nutrition Nord Canada (NNC) a remplacé le programme Aliments-poste qui était opéré par Postes Canada depuis la fin des années 1960. Tout comme l'ancien programme, le but de Nutrition Nord Canada est de s'assurer que les Canadiens qui habitent dans des collectivités isolées du nord ont accès à des aliments périssables nutritifs.

En conséquence, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) a demandé qu'un examen de conformité basé sur des objectifs spécifiques soit effectué pour la période du 1er juillet 2012 au 31 juillet 2013. Les résultats de cet examen sont les suivants :

i) Donne l'opportunité aux consommateurs de profiter de la contribution

Objectif de la revue: Vérifier que le bénéficiaire donne l'opportunité aux consommateurs de profiter de la valeur de la contribution, c.-à-d. que les prix de vente sont réduits du montant de la contribution.

Observation #1
Au cours de l'examen, il fut noté, dans 3 % des factures révisées (2/60), que la contribution de NNC indiquée sur la facture du consommateur n'incluait pas le poids des boites représentant un 5 % additionnel tel que calculé sur le sommaire de la réclamation mensuelle de NNC. Bien que jugées non matérielles, les erreurs notées représentent un trop payé de 24.60 $ pour le niveau de taux de contribution 1 ((4.18 kg x 5.20 $) + (1.30 kg x 2.20 $)) et 0.67 $ pour le niveau de taux de contribution 2 ((.19 kg x 3.40 $) + (.05 kg x .40 $)).

Conclusion
La revue a démontré que le bénéficiaire fait profiter de la valeur de la contribution à l'acheteur du produit à l'exception de l'observation #1 ci-haut.

ii) Visibilité du programme

Objectif de la vérification : Vérifier que les exigences concernant la visibilité du programme sont rencontrées (par exemple que le montant de la réduction de la contribution est clairement identifié sur les factures des clients).

Conclusion
Le Marché Daoust Inc. est un fournisseur du sud et l'examen a démontré que le bénéficiaire indique clairement le montant de la réduction de la contribution sur les factures des clients.

iii) Réclamations et rapports

Objectif de la vérification: Vérifier les systèmes et procédés de rapports et de réclamations du bénéficiaire en ce qui concerne les écarts et contrôles, c.-à-d. vérifier que le processus utilisé par le bénéficiaire pour la préparation des rapports détaillés et pour calculer le montant de contribution à réclamer, sont solides et précis, et que des mécanismes pour détecter et rectifier les erreurs sont en place.

Observation #2
Au cours de l'examen, nous avons noté dans 5 % (3/60) des factures révisées, des erreurs de frappes lors de l'entrée des poids dans le rapport de réclamation. Pour plus de détails, vous référer à l'observation #2 sous la section 3.3.

Conclusion
L'examen des systèmes et procédés de rapports et de réclamations a démontré que les contrôles afin d'assurer que le montant de contribution réclamé est précis sont adéquats et que les mécanismes pour détecter et rectifier les erreurs sont en place à l'exception de l'observation #2 ci-haut mentionnée.

iv) Respect des règles du programme

Objectifs de la vérification: Vérifier que le bénéficiaire respecte toutes les règles du programme, plus précisément celles concernant les ventes à des clients inadmissibles, tels que les campements miniers ou les compagnies de construction.

Conclusion
L'examen a démontré que le bénéficiaire respecte les règles du programme en ce qui concerne la vente à des clients inadmissibles.

2.0 Introduction

2.1 Contexte

Le 1er avril 2011, NNC a remplacé l'ancien programme Aliments-poste qui était opéré par Postes Canada depuis la fin des années 1960. Tout comme l'ancien programme, le but de NNC est de s'assurer que les Canadiens qui habitent dans des collectivités isolées du nord ont accès à des aliments périssables nutritifs.

Il y a présentement 103 collectivités admissibles à ce programme (84 communautés entières et 19 partielles) situées au Nunavut, Territoires du nord-ouest, Yukon, Labrador, Québec, Ontario, Manitoba et Saskatchewan. Deux niveaux de taux de contribution par kilogramme ont été établis pour chaque collectivité : niveau 1 (plus élevé) pour les aliments les plus nutritifs et niveau 2 (plus bas) pour les autres aliments admissibles. Les collectivités où les frais d'opération et de transport sont plus élevés (ex.: Grise Fiord, Nunavut) sont admissibles à des taux de contribution plus élevés.

Les détaillants du nord et les fournisseurs du sud enregistrés auprès du programme (bénéficiaires) sont responsables de gérer leur chaîne d'approvisionnement et de réclamer une contribution auprès de NNC pour les aliments admissibles qui sont expédiés aux collectivités admissibles par voie aérienne. Sur une base mensuelle, ils doivent soumettre une réclamation (kg x taux de contribution), un relevé détaillé d'expédition (kg par item, collectivité, type de client, etc.), les factures et récépissés afin de recevoir le paiement (la plupart ont droit à une avance basée sur les estimés de poids). Ces documents sont soumis au responsable du traitement des réclamations du programme qui est sous contrat avec AADNC (Saskatchewan Institute of Information Technology en collaboration avec Crawford). Le responsable du traitement des réclamations vérifie les réclamations et les fournit à NNC avec recommandation pour paiement. Les détaillants du nord enregistrés doivent également soumettre, directement à NNC, un rapport mensuel sur les prix pour une liste prédéterminée d'aliments. Ces exigences ainsi que les autres exigences du programme sont identifiées dans les accords de contribution entre les bénéficiaires et AADNC.

En date du 28 juin 2013, sept détaillants du nord, 28 fournisseurs du sud et trois transformateurs d'aliments traditionnels étaient enregistrés auprès de NNC. Les détaillants du nord sont les entités qui exploitent des magasins situés dans des collectivités admissibles au programme Nutrition Nord Canada et qui font le commerce d'aliments admissibles dans le cadre du programme. Les fournisseurs du sud sont des fournisseurs de produits alimentaires opérant à partir des collectivités non-NNC qui fournissent des articles admissibles directement à de petits détaillants du nord, des établissements commerciaux (restaurants, etc.), des institutions sociales (garderies, etc.) et des particuliers (appelés commandes directes ou personnelles) situés dans les collectivités admissibles. Les transformateurs d'aliments traditionnels sont des usines situées à Cambridge Bay, Rankin Inlet et Pangnirtung, au Nunavut qui transforment le poisson et la viande pour la distribution aux collectivités admissibles de la région.

La sélection des bénéficiaires de cet examen de conformité a été basée sur le risque perçu et l'emplacement géographique. Les niveaux de risque pour les fins de cet examen de la conformité étaient fondés sur l'expérience actuelle avec les bénéficiaires en ce qui concerne le processus de réclamation et de rapport, à savoir les difficultés rencontrées dans le traitement des demandes, sur les informations portées à l'attention du programme par les parties intéressées, et sur ​​l'importance relative. Pour des raisons pratiques et d'efficacité de coûts, au moins deux bénéficiaires ont été sélectionnés par emplacement géographique.

2.2 Objectifs

L'objectif de l'examen de conformité du bénéficiaire est de fournir l'assurance que le bénéficiaire se conforme aux modalités de l'entente signée avec AADNC. Plus précisément, l'examen de conformité vise à :

  1. Vérifier que le bénéficiaire fait profiter de la valeur de la contribution aux consommateurs, c.-à-d. que les prix de vente sont réduits du montant de la contribution;
  2. Vérifier que les exigences concernant la visibilité du programme sont rencontrées (ex.: pour les détaillants du nord, que les taux de contribution sont inscrits sur les reçus de caisse et sur le matériel du programme, tels qu'affiches, et ces taux doivent être visibles dans le magasin et, pour les fournisseurs du sud, que le montant de la réduction de la contribution est clairement identifié sur les factures des clients);
  1. Vérifier les systèmes et procédés de rapports et de réclamations du bénéficiaire en ce qui concerne les écarts et contrôles, c.-à-d. vérifier que le processus utilisé par le bénéficiaire pour la préparation des rapports détaillés et pour calculer le montant de contribution à réclamer, sont solides et précis, et que les mécanismes pour détecter et rectifier les erreurs sont en place;
  2. Vérifier que le bénéficiaire respecte toutes les règles du programme, plus précisément celles concernant les ventes à des clients inadmissibles, tels que les campements miniers ou les compagnies de construction.

2.3 Portée de la vérification

Le travail portait sur le financement versé à Marché Daoust Inc. par AADNC pour la période du 1er juillet 2012 au 31 juillet 2013. L'examen a été effectué aux bureaux de Marché Daoust Inc. situés à Valleyfield, Québec, du 9 au 11 décembre 2013. Un compte rendu de l'examen de conformité a été fourni au bénéficiaire le 11 décembre 2013.

2.4 Approche et méthodologie

L'examen de conformité comprenait l'examen:

  • Des pratiques de fixation des prix et de facturation concernant les contributions (ex.: marge de profit sur les produits subventionnés vs les produits non-subventionnés);
  • Du processus de pesée et d'expédition;
  • Des registres de ventes et/ou d'achats et documentation justificative pour vérifier la conformité aux règles du programme;
  • Des systèmes et procédés de rapports et de réclamations afin de déterminer comment le bénéficiaire :
    • S'assure que seuls les items admissibles sont réclamés et rapportés;
    • Calcule le poids approprié des items réclamés;
    • S'assure que les rapports mensuels de réclamations mensuelles et rapports détaillés sont valides et exacts; et
    • S'assure que les contrôles pour détecter et rectifier les erreurs promptement sont en place.

De plus, la vérification incluait la tenue d'entrevues avec le bénéficiaire ainsi qu'avec le personnel de NNC et le responsable du traitement des réclamations. L'approche pour l'échantillonnage et la couverture appropriée furent déterminées au cours de la phase de planification de l'examen de conformité.

2.5 Conclusion

Nous sommes d'avis que le bénéficiaire s'est conformé aux objectifs de l'examen de conformité.

3.0 Conformité aux objectifs

3.1 Donne l'opportunité aux consommateurs de profiter de la contribution

Objectif de l'examen : Vérifier que le bénéficiaire donne l'opportunité aux consommateurs de profiter de la valeur de la contribution, c.-à-d. que les prix de vente sont réduits du montant de la contribution

Observation #1
Lors de la préparation de la facture, il y a des poids pour certains items qui sont préétablis et d'autres qui sont variables. Tous les items de poids variable sont pesés au besoin à l'aide de balances dans le département d'emballage. Une majoration de 5 % est ajoutée au poids des items afin de refléter le poids de l'emballage (boîtes). Les poids des items admissibles par niveau (1 et 2) sont ensuite inscrits en réduction sur les factures des clients avec la contribution par kilogramme selon le taux prescrit de NNC. Des coûts administratifs et de transport sont ensuite ajoutés à la facture.

Au cours de la revue, il fut noté, dans 3 % des factures révisées (2/60), que la contribution de NNC indiquée sur la facture du consommateur n'incluait pas le poids des boîtes représentant un 5 % additionnel, tel que calculé sur le sommaire de la réclamation mensuelle de NNC. Bien que jugées non matérielles, les erreurs notées représentent un trop payé de 24.60 $ pour le niveau de taux de contribution 1 ((4.18 kg x 5.20 $) + (1.30 kg x 2.20 $)) et 0.67 $ pour le niveau de taux de contribution 2 ((.19 kg x 3.40 $) + (.05 kg x .40 $)).

Recommandation #1
Le bénéficiaire devrait s'assurer que la contribution au client inclut un 5 % additionnel pour inclure le poids des boîtes tel que réclamé mensuellement à NNC.

Conclusion
La revue a démontré que le bénéficiaire fait profiter de la valeur de la contribution à l'acheteur du produit à l'exception de l'observation #1 ci-haut mentionnée.

3.2 Visibilité du programme

Objectif de la vérification : Vérifier que les exigences concernant la visibilité du programme sont rencontrées (par exemple que le montant de la réduction de la contribution soit clairement identifié sur les factures des clients).

Conclusion
La vérification a démontré que le bénéficiaire indique clairement le montant de la réduction de la contribution sur les factures des clients.

3.3 Réclamations et rapports

Objectif de la vérification : Vérifier les systèmes et procédés de rapports et de réclamations du bénéficiaire en ce qui concerne les écarts et contrôles, c.-à-d. vérifier que le processus utilisé par le bénéficiaire pour la préparation des rapports détaillés et pour calculer le montant de contribution à réclamer, sont solides et précis, et que les mécanismes pour détecter et rectifier les erreurs sont en place.

Le bénéficiaire doit produire deux rapports distincts afin de recevoir la contribution de NNC.

Rapport #1 – Rapport de réclamation
Ce rapport indique, pour chaque item livré aux différents clients, le code de collectivité, le nom du client, le code d'article NNC, la description de l'article NNC, le niveau de contribution, le poids expédié, le numéro de facture et le numéro de preuve de livraison.

Rapport #2 – Formulaire de réclamation
Ce rapport indique le poids total par niveau de contribution (1 et 2) et la contribution par collectivité. De plus, le rapport inclut un sommaire de tous les poids par niveau de contribution (1 et 2) et la contribution totale pour toutes les collectivités.

Observation #2
Le bénéficiaire utilise deux systèmes distincts pour la facturation des clients commerciaux et individuels. La différence est principalement que les clients commerciaux achètent des produits provenant d'autres magasins, tandis que les clients individuels achètent des produits vendus par le bénéficiaire.

Pour les clients commerciaux, chaque facture est transcrite manuellement dans le rapport de réclamation. Pour les clients individuels, un rapport mensuel est produit directement du système des ventes et l'information est ensuite copiée dans le rapport de NNC sans entrées manuelles additionnelles.

Nous avons effectué des tests afin de nous assurer que les poids indiqués sur les factures concordaient avec les poids indiqués sur les rapports NNC. Au cours de l'examen, nous avons noté que sur 3 des 58 factures commerciales examinées, les poids indiqués sur la facture ne concordaient pas avec les poids indiqués sur le rapport de réclamation préparé par le bénéficiaire. Le bénéficiaire a confirmé qu'il s'agissait d'erreurs de frappe lors de l'entrée des poids dans le rapport de réclamation NNC.

Recommandation #2
Le bénéficiaire devrait porter une attention particulière lors de l'entrée des poids dans le rapport de réclamation et investiguer tout écart significatif entre le poids sur la facture et le poids au bon de transport.

Conclusion
L'examen des systèmes et procédés de rapports et de réclamations a démontré que les contrôles sont adéquats afin d'assurer que le montant de contribution réclamé est précis et que les mécanismes pour détecter et rectifier les erreurs sont en place à l'exception de l'observation #2 ci-haut mentionnée.

3.4 Respect des règles du programme

Objectifs de la vérification : Vérifier que le bénéficiaire respecte toutes les règles du programme, plus précisément celles concernant les ventes à des clients inadmissibles, tels que les campements miniers ou les compagnies de construction.

Note #1
Lors de notre visite à la place d'affaire du bénéficiaire, nous avons interviewé la gérante du département des commandes du nord qui nous a informé qu'elle et son équipe connaissaient très bien les règles du programmes, étant sur place depuis le début du programme, incluant la non admissibilité de certains types d'entreprises telles que les entreprises minières et de construction. Au besoin, une recherche sur internet et consultation avec d'autres clients locaux sont faites lors de doutes sur l'admissibilité de nouveaux clients. Notre revue d'un échantillon représentatif des factures a démontré que le bénéficiaire n'avait pas fait de vente à des clients inadmissibles.

Conclusion
La vérification a démontré que le bénéficiaire respecte les règles du programme en ce qui concerne la vente à des clients inadmissibles.

Annexe A - Commentaires du bénéficiaire sur l'ébauche du rapport et réponse du vérificateur

Commentaires du bénéficiaire :

Le tout me semble pas mal clair et comme vous avez indiqué les erreurs son plutôt des erreurs de frappe. Nous avons (depuis votre rencontre) améliorer notre façon de calculer et entrées les chiffres, pour qu'il y ai plusieurs point de re-vérification.

Réponse de Samson & Asscociés :

Aucun commentaire requis.

Date de modification :